I’ve been Nominated…

(Flusters and blushes) This is a first for me.

Thank you Deborah, for nominating me for The Versatile Blogger Award.

Deborah has one of the best blogs around and she is responsible for making me believe that I could have my very own bee hive and keep bees. Even though I know little about them, I have always loved them, and I am quickly learning, thanks to her delightful and informative blog.

Please check her out at:  romancingthebee.wordpress.com


So here are the Rules for Versatile Blogger Award:

  •  Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy. Thank you, Deborah!
  •  Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy. romancingthebee.wordpress.com
  •  Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. See below!
  •  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to your post nominating them, or to the Versatile Blogger Blog.
  •  Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Here are my nominations:

Sharon at  The Pyjama Gardener  

Erica at  http://www.nwedible.com/

http://gardenpoet.wordpress.com/

http://kilbournegrove.wordpress.com/

http://croftgarden.wordpress.com/

http://lafermedesourrou.blogspot.com/

Bridget at http://arignagardener.wordpress.com/

Mavis at http://www.onehundreddollarsamonth.com/

Lorraine at http://lorrainesvegpatch.blogspot.com/

Marie at http://marieelisabethsrum.blogspot.com/

Okay Deborah, Here are seven things about me:

1. I robbed the cradle and married the sweetest man on earth who happens to be eleven years younger than me. We both love France, and the first time that we were planning a trip there, I found out that I was pregnant and we had to cancel the trip as I was suddenly in NO mood to travel.

2. Together we produced the most wonderful, sweet and talented girl. We named her Isabella Paris. We joke (lamely) that we had a Paris instead of going there.

3. When I was four, I began telling people that when I grew up, I was going to be an artist at home. I never changed my mind. I am a bit of a hobbit, and I only leave home for food or for adventure (i.e. travelling abroad). When I was in my early twenties, I worked for Dover Publishing, illustrating Paper dolls. I also worked for many years illustrating greeting cards for a card company called Madison Park Greetings. Except for a brief stint as a housekeeper when I was young, I have always worked from home. Don’t  try to make me to leave my home, I will box your ears in and roll you in stinging nettles.

4. When I am not obsessing over my garden, I am writing and illustrating a book for women. Actually, it is four books, one for each season. It is a bit of fiction/fantasy, set against a backdrop of delightful gardens and a bit of Paris. What? You’re not surprised? About Paris and Gardens of course, not about being a writer.

5. My top favorite movies are Amelie and It’s a wonderful life. It’s a tie, I can’t decide which I like better.

6. Someday I want my very own thatched cottage.

7. Nature makes my heart sing. It is my bliss. It is my chapel of joy, my cathedral of wonderment. It is second only to my family and my sister Elizabeth.

There you go peeps, thanks for reading!

-Susan

12 thoughts on “I’ve been Nominated…

  1. You SO deserve this award! And you are very welcome!!
    It’s funny that you have a daughter named Paris and my daughter is named Amelie.
    Really! It’s a family name.
    No, I’m not a bit surprised about your books. 🙂 Maybe we were separated at birth??

    • Hah! Maybe!
      Can you tell me more about your book?
      Isabella would have loved her name to be Amelie. We thought it was SO unique when we named her, and now of course, everybody and their dog is named Isabella..oh well,.what evs!
      See yuh ’round sistuh!

    • Deborah, I must mention that when I said “are you surprised, that I was not talking about my writing skills. I do realize that I’m pretty lazy about it on my blog, and as a writer of books, well, that is to be determined, but I just have this thing about this book, and these people and this story. I started it when Isabella was little and I hope to gawd that I actually get it done before I croak. So there you have it, and I did correct it on the post, Jeesh!

  2. Susan, such an honour, you certainly deserve it, and thank you for nominating me. Unfortunately I stopped participating in these a few years ago. But thank you again for thinking of me. It was fascintaing to learn a few things about you. (And I love Paris as well, sometimes when we lived in London, we would go just for lunch).
    Deborah xo

    • You went for lunch? For Lunch!?!? OMG! to be able to do that, Okay, I’m pea green. And your welcome. You would deserve it as well. I’m new to this, so, you know, gotta try it.

  3. Congratulations on your Versatile Blogger award. It’s great to find out more about you and I’m not surprised that you’re an artist and writer! Your description of being a Hobbit is really funny and I’m still smiling (unfortunately I have to leave the The Shire each day for work but I’m a Hobbit at heart too). Thank you for the nomination. I’m lost for words…. thank you 🙂

  4. congratulations dearest, your blog, garden and your art are truly worthy of many accolades… Keeping bees is a delightful pastime… If you do decide to get a hive, I know that the bees will love working with your sweet and gentle nature…Neinah

    • I just realized that you have a blog too. Just caught up on all of your adventures and Sophie’s and Isabells’s too.
      Wow, Our kids are all grown up and in one piece (Sophie).
      You are a wonderful writer.
      It will be so fun to have you over for a garden visit.
      -Susan

  5. I’m so sorry, I’ve only just found your award – congratulations you deserve it. I always enjoy your writing and you frequently make me smile.
    Paris is one of my favourite cities – romantic weekend certainly but lunch you’d never get me back to the station in time! Can’t compete with Paris, but the sea view is good, the lobster season has just started and I can offer croft grown salad and Himself’s home baked bread. We might even manage the house speciality of rhubarb and ginger crumble. Are you free next week?
    Thanks for the nomination too.

Leave a Reply

