Primrose Tale….

Below is a Primrose I grew from seed. Would you be interested in growing it in your garden? I would love to have your opinions on it.

About thirty years ago, (can it be that long ago?) when I was innocent in the ways of the gardening world, I attempted to grow some Primroses from seed. At the time, I lived in a damp, drafty ‘hundred year old house, and as a result, damping off was a normal occurrence. I remember that it was a pack of Thompson and Morgans Primrose “Border Mix” seed, and as I watch them damp off and die with each sowing, I tried a trick out of an old gardening book. I put a brick in a pan with an inch of water, sowed the seed on the top, and covered it with a super fine layer of soil.

One little seedling survived. It not only survived, but it grew into the most remarkable little Primrose.

The petals started out a pale yellow, and then as they aged, they turned different shades of apricot and orange until finally turning a plum sort of color.

Not only was this plant unusual, but it was (and is) the largest and most robust primrose that I had ever seen.

This tough little plant survived that (unhappy) time, and moved from place to place with me. It even survived that pale, pastel garden era, though it was hidden away in a corner where no one would see it and where it wouldn’t clash with the other colors.

When my tastes finally changed, my little primrose turned out to be just the ticket for my Spring time colors, and now I couldn’t imagine my garden without it.

It has been separated many times, and I tuck it in everywhere I can where it lights up and compliments the colors around it.

I gave one to Dan Hinkley years ago, but he  or his staff lost it.  Then I sent pictures to a few companies to see if they would be interested, but after hemming and hawing, they decided against it.

Have I missed something here?

*Please note. The colors in the photos are not as colorful and vibrant as the real plant!

13 thoughts on “Primrose Tale….

  1. It’s so sweet Susan – isn’t it great when we grow memories along with plants? Name it yourself and pass it onto your family and friends who, I’m sure, will treasure it as much as you have x

  2. Absolutely splendid colors! I love primroses but have not mustered the courage to try growing them yet. (They will probably not do well in my heavy clay – but I’ll have to give them a try sometime after seeing yours!)

    • Thank you so much! You are the first to comment, and I was afraid that I was the only one that thought my (primrose) baby was pretty.
      You made my day!

    • Thanks Donalyn,
      I know, though no one has seen it in real life either. I will be seeing Dan HInkley in a coupld of weeks and will bring one to show him.
      Thanks so much for your comment.

  3. Your photos are lovely! I’m wondering about starting the seed on the brick: does the seed sprout upon the brick and then you move the seedling to a pot? Is the idea that the moisture wicks through the brick?

    • Hi, yes, it was to ensure a steady supply of moisture, but not too much. The same can be done with vermiculite over the top. And yes, then you (carefully) move the seedling to a pot.
      Thanks for the comment and visiting.
      -Susan

Leave a Reply

