All I Really, Really Want……

-A line from an old Joni Mitchel song…

What I really, really want right now: An Amish cold frame (or 3 or 4), and a glorious Chicken Coop.

I’ve seen a lot of chicken coops, I even have a file of them on my Pinterest board, but when I saw this one I was smitten. So classy, so black, so full of wonderful details, not to mention the painted interior, and the cute chickens.

And that sweet Amish cold frame, so simple, yet so darn practical!  I’m trying to design one like that (in my head of course) that would be made of cedar, so it would be light and rot proof, but instead of the plastic, something lightweight yet aesthetically pleasing. It would also have to be removable for the sunny months. Hmmmm.

Right now I have hoop frames with plastic sheeting, but I hate all the waste of tossing out the plastic every year, not to mention the looks of it.

On a similar note, last night I got caught up reading a new blog: http://yearroundveggiegardener.blogspot.com/ She has just released a book on the subject, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. In the mean time, I am taking loads of notes as I read through her blog. This is the direction that I want to be heading in; to have a year round garden and to be making the most of my vegetable plot, not to mention the taste of fresh greens straight from the garden any time of the year.

On the home front, I put in a full day yesterday, bending rebar for the garden and the never-ending winter clean-up and mulching. This has left my house in a state which is not pleasant to the eye (to put it lightly) and which just begs for some white-gloved somebody to show up at my door and organize some kind of lame-assed hoarders intervention. So I’m gonna do what I gotta do, spruce up the dump. Hopefully there will be some time left afterwards to head back outside.

-till next time…..

5 thoughts on “All I Really, Really Want……

  1. That chicken coop is AMAZING! I’m getting a few silkies and wish their home would be as pleasing to the eye. This year I’ve built to very large cinder block raised beds and intended on turning them into cold frames.

  2. Hi Susan,

    What a lovely blog – I think our wish lists must be very similar! Loving, loving , loving that amish cold frame! And that chicken coop looks so inviting, it’s almost too pretty to use!

    Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog!
    ~Kelly Ash

    • Hi Kelly,
      Thanks for stopping by. I wish I could just wiggle my nose and get what I want instantly, but then my yard would look like a disaster.
      I do plan to get some cold frames made this year, and the chicken coop? I will keep dreaming….
      -Susan

  3. I thought my chickens were spoilt – that coup is better than my house!! I really need a cold frame and the one here looks perfect Susan.
    I came across you on blotanical by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

