Time to Plant Sweet Peas…

Our vegetable garden is coming along well, with radishes and beans up, and we are less worried about revolution that we used to be.
–  E. B. White

Happy first day of Spring!

I am busy planting these days. Yesterday I sowed seeds (in square foot fashion) of lettuces, radishes, beets, arugula (rocket), and broccoli Raab. Some under cloche, some not depending on their needs.

While I gardened, the birds around me were gathering grasses and twigs for their nests, and the joy I felt at being out with nature filled me to the brim.

I am also working on putting an arbor down the center of my vegetable garden. It is made of re-bar, a gardener’s best friend. Re-bar is so wonderful. It has the ability to disappear, is inexpensive, easy to work with, and displays roses, honeysuckle, or anything else you want to grow vertically, with aplomb.

I am also starting my sweet peas. I love them dearly. This year I will be growing the following:

And now the sun has come out again, so I must get back to work.   -till next time……

Like this:

10 thoughts on “Time to Plant Sweet Peas…

  1. I hope you haven’t got this comment already. Karma is against me today.

    A post on sweet peas was such a gift. I’ve just recovered from bronchitis and I’m catching up on trivial things like packing and moving! If you have time pop over to

    http://aslongasyouhaveagarden.blogspot.ca/2012/02/how-i-became-gardener-part-1.html

    and you will see just how meaningful the post and pictures were for me.

    Due to the move I wasn’t going to plant anything, but I realize I need to put in the sweet peas by the fence.

    • Hi Susan, What a great blog.
      I’m sorry your childhood was so hard. I too found nature to be my solace growing up.
      I’m so glad to see you happy and content now, and hope to visit often.
      What part of the country do you live in?

      • Hi M&I, Thanks for the kind words. I’m in Calgary right now but packing to move to the Upper Sunshine Coast in British Columbia. I’m glad you are in the Pacific Northwest too. I’ll be able to pick up much needed tips, especially regarding what grows well.
        Regarding the sweet peas, I have planted indoors many times and they always come up a bit spindly despite my best efforts. After transplanting they seem to do nothing for weeks and then they take off like made and I get a wonderful show. Like PJ Girl I am constantly encouraging them. I have also planted directly outside-a bit late as I have to wait for the ground to thaw. This also does well but doesn’t give me as long a season.

      • I usually direct sow, but the rain and the birds did in my first efforts last year so I’m going back to the indoor method. Here’s to a new growing season!

  2. Timely post – I planted some sweet peas a couple of weeks ago and they’re doing well but they’re really skinny! I usually buy them as small plants but thought that I’d give them a go from seed this year. I hope they’re going to be alright – I’m currently building their confidence telling them that they are the super models of the plant world! I love your Cupani and Blue Vein sweet peas

    • P.J.
      Sounds like there’s not enough light on your sweet peas. Been there, done that!
      Since I don’t have a greenhouse and live in the Pacific Northwest- the land of virtually no sun in the winter, I either direct sow, or else I start indoors in deep packs and leave them outside whenever I can. They love the cold as long as they are acclimated to it. You probably know all of this, but just in case 🙂
      I’m afraid I’m going to have to add 3 more varieties to the list… the only problem being, where to put them all?

      • Thanks – I’ve moved them to a brighter location. Great tips as I’ve never grown these from seed before so you advice is appreciated. You could start a sweet pea farm?!?!!

  3. Oooh, you are getting me in the mood for spring, the way the weather has been lately, hope I don’t miss it. Loved it when I was a florist and the buckets of sweet peas came in from market, just wanted to bury my face in them and breathe deeply.
    Thank you for visiting my blog andleaving a comment, love your blog.

    • I know what you mean, last year they had fresh sweet peas at a local farmer’s market in May. They said their greenhouse was one large perfumed room of sweet pea fragrance. Can you imagine? Okay, I need a greenhouse stat! Thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

