June Garden Update……

What? It’s been 10 days since I last posted?  Whatever! Here are some pics of my gardens’ progress.

The plants in the new bed are coming along.

The paths are now covered in gravel. The only trouble being that once you fix one eyesore, It makes other problems stand out like sore thumbs. The plantings here have no cohesion, They simply do not make sense.

Here’s another view. There are very few contrasts, and too many dark plants for such a shady area. And what’s with the left side? It looks like I just stuck whatever in and walked away (which is what I did). Time for a rip-o-rama my friends!

Too many fickety fracken greens y’all! And see that big gaping hole in the middle? I’m thinking a lush, large leafed Hosta in a golden tone would brighten that up.

Enough with the fussing! Let me introduce you to somebody you should know. This is Blue Wheat grass. It is my favorite grass in all of Grassdom. It is also the BLUEST grass you will ever find.

I have yet to find a color that isn’t enhanced by being next to it.

Just remember that it needs sharp drainage to make it through the winters.

This is my second favorite grass. I love its lemony-limeness and the way it catches the sunlight (when there is some to catch). Unfortunately, I can’t remember its name and I’m too lazy to look it up. Ayo!

Jumping over to the vegetable garden, check out the blossoms on these heirloom violet podded peas. I hope they taste as good as they look.

In the Rhubarb border, the peonies are putting on quite a show.

And last but not least, another little plant that I cannot remember the name of, but which I could gaze upon ’till the cows come home. Does anyone know the name of this little sweetheart? Thanks for dropping by.
“Till next time…..

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “June Garden Update……

  1. Don’t rip-o-rama too much as it looks really good! I’m loving your violet podded peas and the rhubarb border too. It makes me want to wander up your lovely gravel path, sit at your table with the orange parasol, and have a cup of tea and natter with you!

    • PJ, I LOVE the word natter! I am going to have to add that to my vocabulary. Oh you English, always up on us with the lingo. I wish you could drop by for a natter too. Do you like Twinings English Breakfast? It’s my favorite.

      • Ha ha ha…. I love Twinings English Breakfast (a proper cup of tea!) and it’s so good to natter over :-)

      • So does Karl Pilkington, one of my favorite English people. Be sure to bring him along when you come for a visit. :)

  2. Wow. The variety and brightness of the colors are amazing! The green area looks kinda nice and peaceful, though I’m not sure if you’re looking for the quiet look in that area of the garden or not.

    • Thank you! I wish you could see the colors in person. They are so lively. About the green, I’m okay with it, it just needs some contrast is all.
      Thank you for dropping by!

  3. I’m drooling and pretty much speechless. I always lose the ability to speak when overwhelmed by beauty. It can be awkward at times.

  4. Beautiful! You’re garden is an inspiration for me, the colors and textures are stunning. I definitely need more color in the potager! At least this “weather” is good for working – not too hot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

